The CI is structured to ensure linkages between university faculties, departments and research units concerned with informing child-related policy and practice, and also to maintain linkages between the academic and policy environments. The quality of the CI's research is ensured through peer review and the promotion of cross-disciplinary work.

Located in the Faculty of Health Sciences, the CI is led by a Director, who is assisted by a governing board:

Tracey Naledi
A/Professor Tracey Naledi (Chair), Deputy Dean: Health Services, UCT Faculty of Health Sciences
Email: tracey.naledi@uct.ac.za
Expertise: Translation of research into policy and practice, strengthening systems for health and health equity
Rudzani Muloiwa
Professor Rudzani Muloiwa, Head of the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, UCT Faculty of Health Sciences
Email: rudzani.muloiwa@uct.ac.za 
Expertise: Infectious diseases with a special emphasis on vaccine preventable diseases
Karabo Ozah
Karabo Ozah, Director of the Centre for Child Law; lecturer in private law in the Law Faculty at University of Pretoria
Email: karabo.ozah@up.ac.za
Expertise: Children's rights, human rights, family law
Benyam Dawit Mezmur
Benyam Dawit Mezmur, Head of the Children's Rights Project at the Dullah Omar Institute; Deputy Dean: Research and Postgraduate Studies, Law Faculty at University of the Western Cape; member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child
Email: benyam.mezmur@gmail.com
Expertise: Children’s rights law; international protection of human rights
Jeremy Seekings
Professor Jeremy Seekings, professor of political studies and sociology; Director of the Centre for Social Science Research, UCT
Email: jeremy.seekings@uct.ac.za
Expertise: General social science, including studies of adolescents and youth
Wiedaad Slemming
A/Professor Wiedaad Slemming, CI Director (ex officio governing board member)
Email: wiedaad.slemming@uct.ac.za 
Expertise: Child health, early childhood development (ECD) and child disability
Marsha Orgill
Marsha Orgill, CI Senior Researcher (ex officio governing board staff representative)
Email: marsha.orgill@uct.ac.za 
Expertise: Health policy research, health systems research, management and leadership in health systems, implementation research
Katharine Hall
Katharine Hall, CI Senior Researcher (ex officio governing board member, finance portfolio)
Email: kath.hall@uct.ac.za
Expertise: Social policy, child poverty and inequality,social grants, households and mobility, indicators